5th Ed. Smart Materials and Surfaces - SMS Conference

Speaker's Details

Prof. José María De Teresa

INMA, CSIC-University of Zaragoza, Spain

José María De Teresa PhD thesis in University of Zaragoza (Spain) focused on the study of the magnetic and transport properties in magnetic oxides with colossal magnetoresistance. He carried out two postdoctoral stays, at IFW (Dresde, Germany) and Thomson-CNRS (Orsay, France, work under the supervision of Nobel Prize winner Prof. Fert). In 2001, he joined the CSIC, where he was promoted to Research Professor in 2010. He has made relevant contributions (more than 10,000 citations) in magnetism and magnetotransport of ferromagnetic oxides (colossal magnetoresistance, spin glass behavior, spin-orbit coupling, anomalous Hall effect), in spintronics (in magnetic tunnel junctions and in conversion of spin current into electric current), nanosuperconductivity (vortices, superconductivity reentrance, electric-field effect, nanoSQUIDs), nanodevices (magnetic biosensors, magnetic force microscopies), and new developments in nanolithography (Cryo-FIBID, irradiation of metal-organic films, ferromagnets by FEBID). He is the current President of the Steering Committee “Condensed Matter Division” of the European Physical Society (EPS), the director of the Dual Beam area of ​​the Advanced Microscopy Laboratory and the director of the Department of Physics of Materials and Nanosystems at the Instituto de Nanociencia y Materiales de Aragón (INMA). In 2021 he was distinguished as a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and in 2023 as a Fellow of the EPS.